Health and care staff recognised in New Year's Honours

nurse with elderly lady

The outstanding service of staff within 13 NHS Confederation member organisations has been recognised in the 2017 New Year’s Honours list.

The list, which includes Confed members across England, Wales and Northern Ireland, sees a knighthood for NHS chief executive David Sloman and MBEs for NHS chairs David Hegarty and Neil Large.

It also includes a knighthood for the Care Quality Commission's David Behan, a damehood for Prof Elizabeth Anionwu for services to nursing and the Mary Seacole Statue Appeal, while Sir Cyril Chantler receives a Knight Grand Cross for services to leadership in healthcare.

Recognition for services to mental health include Jacqueline Dyer, vice-chair of the Mental Health Taskforce (MBE), Sarah Brennan, chief executive of Young Minds (OBE) and Susan Barker, director at Time to Change (OBE).

The achievements of individuals from local government, social care and the voluntary sector also feature in the 2017 list, with health making up 7 per cent of all honours.

Confed members honoured

Airedale NHS Foundation Trust
Dr Helen Livingstone, specialist palliative care consultant, for services to end-of-life healthcare.

Aneurin Bevan University Health Board
Wendy Warren, head of emergency planning, for services to emergency planning and health protection.
BME: Theresa Thomas, staff nurse, for services to nursing care in Gwent.

Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
OBE: Trevor Buchanan, consultant ophthalmic surgeon, for services to healthcare in Northern Ireland and voluntary medical service in South Sudan.

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
MBE: David Wilkinson, consultant vascular surgeon and postgraduate dean at Health Education England, for services to the NHS.

Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
MBE: Alun Morgan, assistant director of therapies and health science, for services to physiotherapy in Wales.

Dudley Clinical Commissioning Group
MBE: Dr David Hegarty, chair and chair of West Midlands Clinical Senate, for services to primary care.

Liverpool Heart and Chest Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
MBE: Neil Large, chair, for services to healthcare.

London Ambulance Service NHS Trust
Queen’s Ambulance Medal: 
Paul Smith, sector delivery manager.

Mid Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
BME: Elizabeth Robinson, bereavement manager, for services to healthcare.

Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust
Rosalind Alstead, director of nursing and clinical standards, for services to nursing.

Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust
Knighthood: David Sloman, chief executive, for services to the NHS.

South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust
OBE: Sarah Browne, assistant director, for services to the social care sector in Northern Ireland.

Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust
Queen’s Ambulance Medal: Nigel Rees, head of research and innovation, and Andrew Challenger, senior education and development lead.

Find out more

View the full list of New Year's Honours for health and social care staff on the Department of Health website.

Latest Tweets

Latest Blog Post

More must be done to tackle the health inequity of homeless people at the end of life | Dr Caroline Shulman

14 / 8 / 2017 11am

Significant changes are needed to improve the coordination of care for homeless people and ensure they have equitable access to palliative care, writes Dr Caroline Shulman. Innovations in London and Canada offer ways forward.

Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Confederation

  • Personalise your website
    Select topics of interest for recommended content
  • Bookmark useful pages
    Quickly and easily find what you need
  • Comment and recommend
    Rate and share content with colleagues
  • Plus, for our members
    Access member-only resources and tailor member benefits and services

Sounds great, what next?

Register Now

Not now, I will register later

Log In

To book events and access member only content you need to register with us.  This only takes a moment via our registration page. If you have already registered login using your email address and password below.